Как дела?

Puzzled by the Cyrillic alphabet? I used to. This short sentence means ‘How are you?’ in Russian and it is pronounced ‘kak delà’.

I have just started a Russian course and this is one of the first sentences we learnt. What I would like to do in this post is to share my beginner’s experience with you and write down a couple of tips both for me and other people who might want to start a Russian language course. If you have any useful advice, please share them here, it would be great!

Anyway, here they are:

– For the first two classes I was not feeling very confident with the alphabet. I believe this comes from the fact that the languages I have learnt so far (English, German and French) all share the Latin alphabet. However, do not give up! I read aloud the few words and sentenced I had learnt over and over, as well as tried to write them down to familiarize with small and big caps.

– Even though Russian is a Slavic language, try to find the similarities with other languages you know to help you memorize words. A good one is стул (‘stool’, a chair), which really sounds like its German counterpart Stuhl (‘shtool’). I hope I’ll find some more in the next weeks.

– More tips to come!

Finally, I have seen that the internet offers quite a lot of websites English-Russian for learners, but not many with the language combination Italian-Russian. Wikibooks offers a free online language course, which I think focuses a lot on grammar, but lacks audio material and vocab. As soon as my language skills improve, I will look for more websites, maybe with more Cyrillic characters in them!

всего хорошего! All the best!

About Chiara Vecchi

A blogging translator working from English and German into Italian. You are more than welcome to visit my blog https://squirreltranslations.wordpress.com!
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Как дела?

  1. Brad Tebow says:

    Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techy but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

You are more than welcome to leave a comment!

