Just a screenshot (instead of shooting the screen!)

The other day I was translating a non-editable *.pdf document with a few pictures and tables that had to be in the target text. How to handle those images? I decided to capture all of them and I found a free tool online: Pickpick.

I have to say that I was a bit skeptical at the beginning, as I used to be a great fan of Windows Snipping Tool, but I had to change my mind. Pickpick (very cute logo!) allows you to capture images and active windows and then edit them in an environment which is very similar to Paint. It is very easy to add text boxes and customize their colour and size. Finally, there are several formats to save your caption.

One of the few downsides I found is that the installation wizard includes the installation of a toolbar (you cannot untick this option), but it is very simple to uninstall it. In addition, you can edit a picture by adding text boxes or arrows, but once you have saved it as an image you cannot go back and edit those, but only the picture as a whole.

So, do you use other tools for image captions? And did you like Pickpick? I’m eager to know!

P.S. Another interesting post on the same topic, happy reading!


About Chiara Vecchi

A blogging translator working from English and German into Italian. You are more than welcome to visit my blog https://squirreltranslations.wordpress.com!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are more than welcome to leave a comment!

