M.A.???

A few days ago one of my used-to-be university lecturers contacted me to ask if I would be able to get in touch with a prospective MA student, who was interested in the programme I finished a while ago. While emailing her, I started thinking about the reasons why I studied in Swansea (Wales) and why I completed a Master’s in translation, so here are some of those thoughts:

 – I strongly believe that doing a Master’s abroad is a great opportunity! Not just a change of scene and society, but the occasion to see how the translation industry works in a different country, plus the possibility of a more effective marketing strategy on the spot!

 – The opinions of fellow students are essential. Every university programme looks great on the website of its relevant institution, but we all know that what you see is not always what you get. So, just to make sure, try to get in touch with current students or alumni. They might also be able to provide you with useful tips (accommodation, social life, career opportunities, and so on).

 – Before you start such a degree, ask if this is the best option for you. After my gap year, I thought that a Master’s in translation was the best way to learn how to use CAT tools and to further improve my English. However, this might not be the case if you are a poetry translator, or if you have a family to take care of. Can’t move? No problem! There are online courses and live sessions offered by both universities and fellow colleagues, so I believe that there are plenty of opportunities to get started!

 – Do not forget to ask those who have already been translators for a while! They know what the market is looking for and they might give you some essential advice!

 Would you add anything else? It would be lovely if you did! And all the best to all, students and professionals!!!

About Chiara Vecchi

A blogging translator working from English and German into Italian. You are more than welcome to visit my blog https://squirreltranslations.wordpress.com!
This entry was posted in Translation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to M.A.???

  1. Kadry says:

    Very intreresting post. It was very useful. I was looking exaxtly for this. Thank you for your effort. I hope you will write more such interesting posts.

You are more than welcome to leave a comment!

