Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow…

The weather outside is awful too, so I believe the only missing point is that it’s not Christmas. Anyway, since I have never seen so much snow where I live, I thought to write a few lines about snow (…) to apologise for the lack of a proper post this week.

I was building a snowman with my brother this morning (you can see a picture of it on the left, with a very proud me next to it!) and I started thinking how I could say snowman in other languages. Here’s a short list:

English: snowman (ok, we probably know this one…)
Italian: pupazzo di neve
German: Schneemann
French: bonhomme de neige
Spanish: muñeco de nieve
Danish: snemand
Portuguese: boneco de neve

Anyway, if you know how to say snowman in other languages, go for it and I’ll be more than happy to add it to the above list! Have a great (and not too snowy) weekend! It is quite interesting to see that most languages use the combination ‘man + snow’, whereas some romance languages (namely Italian, Spanish and Portuguese) employ ‘puppet/doll + snow’. If you say ‘man of snow’ in Italian, you are talking about the abominable snowman or Yeti. He would be an interesting neighbour to be sitting in your front garden, I’m sure 🙂

And finally, if you know how to say snowman in other languages, go for it and I’ll be more than happy to add it to the table! Have a great (and not too snowy) weekend!

About Chiara Vecchi

A blogging translator working from English and German into Italian. You are more than welcome to visit my blog https://squirreltranslations.wordpress.com!
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are more than welcome to leave a comment!

