After all, you just translate

On Monday I received a phone call from a temporary employment agency (like Manpower, Adecco, and so on), where I had applied when I had just finished my MA.

‘Hi, I would just like to update our database’

‘Yeah, sure’

‘So, you are still doing translations only. Is that right?’

(sigh) ‘I am doing translations’ (and would like to emphasize the full stop here)

‘Ok, thanks. Bye’

Dear readers, I had a very Mox-like feeling, but I only had a laugh about the mystery (the ignorance?) surrounding translations. Any suggested replies if this is happens to me again (but hopefully not!)?

About Chiara Vecchi

A blogging translator working from English and German into Italian. You are more than welcome to visit my blog https://squirreltranslations.wordpress.com!
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

You are more than welcome to leave a comment!

