Na shledanou (with some news!)

I am leaving today for a short holiday in the Czech Republic to visit a friend who is willing to start up as a freelance interpreter and translator there. Aside from visiting some of the country’s landmarks, I will try to see if I can grasp something translation-related and worth a blog post.
Is anyone off for a break in these days? I’d love to know where you’re going!

Second highlight… I have added the badge of Translators without Borders to my sidebar. I’ve been a volunteer since the beginning of 2012 and, although EN>IT assignments are rare, I hope to give my contribution.
(Let’s skip how long it took me to resize the logo properly… 😉 )

Update on 4th October 2012: please read the comments below for Veronica Lupascu’s advice on how to obtain your badge!

Fabrice Foucaud has set up a website about learning French. He contacted me a while ago because he was trying to compile an e-book collecting advice on how to learn French or another language by language lovers. I was delighted to be able to participate! I’ve already had the pleasure to see a draft of the (free!) book, which has just been made available today, and I found some suggestions very helpful.
My contribution should be at page 26 and 27, please let me know what you think!

And finally, get ready for International Translation Day on 30th September! You can read a short press release from the Translation centre of the Bodies of the EU. Will you do anything special?

Na shledanou!*

* Goodbye in Czech

About Chiara Vecchi

A blogging translator working from English and German into Italian. You are more than welcome to visit my blog https://squirreltranslations.wordpress.com!
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Na shledanou (with some news!)

  1. I wish you great holidays! 🙂

    I liked the idea of displaying a TWB badge on your blog. I also do volunteer work for TWB, whenever possible.

    BTW, I found this ProZ.com forum thread http://www.proz.com/forum/prozcom%3A_translator_coop/204463-a_new_badge_for_translators_without_borders.html

    You can get a badge that automatically displays the number of words translated. I submitted a support request to get my HTML code 🙂 yeey!

    Happy Translation Day to everybody!

    • Hi Veronica! Thanks for sharing this link, I hope you will receive your badge soon.

      My holiday was great (this is why I have just managed to approve your comment, sorry about that!) and next time I’ll go I want to be able to speak more Czech, as I really liked the language, the people and the country!

      • Welcome back!

        I got my badge. Check out my blog to see it: http://www.glossofilia.com/blog (top right sidebar).

        If others are interested, here is how you obtain the code:
        1. go on http://twb.translationcenter.org
        2. visit your own profile
        3. click on the badge
        4. copy/paste the code

        The code offers a link to your proz.com profile as well, but if you don’t want to display your proz.com profile info, just delete de text and html that refers to proz. I like my badge 🙂 I like that it counts translated words automatically. This is not important, but still nice 🙂

      • Thanks a lot Veronica! I hope other translators will benefit from your useful info. And the badge looks very nice on your website, well done!

You are more than welcome to leave a comment!

