Becoming a Language Solutions Provider

After reading that LSP can be the acronym of Language Solutions Provider, I looked back at this month to try to identify if I’ve been able to offer a solution, even if on a small scale. Here are two occasions I think I did a good job:

A few days ago I translated two letters for a court in Italy. At some point one of the letters referred to a contract and mentioned that the seller would have had to buy (?) something, which sounded a bit weird.
The sentence was grammatically correct, but after asking, the client said it was a mistake, as the seller would have had to sell (now I get it! 🙂 ) something.

The other day I was working on a discussion guide for a new drug. One of the questions asked physicians if they usually choose to prescribe a brand or generic drug.
However, Italy has recently passed a law that mandates doctors to choose a generic drug if it’s available. So, that question is very likely to get the same reply (‘I have to choose a generic drug’) and therefore affect the market research.
The client was notified and they’ll check into it before making a final decision.

Small things, I know, but great things start small, don’t they? 😉
Dear readers, I’m sure you’ve been great at advising your clients, can you share some of your experiences? Oh, and happy Halloween (today) and happy All Saints (tomorrow)!

About Chiara Vecchi

A blogging translator working from English and German into Italian. You are more than welcome to visit my blog https://squirreltranslations.wordpress.com!
This entry was posted in Translation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are more than welcome to leave a comment!

